CLINICAL PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS
The information below applies to all individuals who are submitting Applications for a Clinical Professional Counselor's License.
General Licensing Information
The Board of Examiners for Marriage and Family Therapists and Clinical Professional Counselors was created for the protection of the public. The Board is empowered under the Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapter 641A to set minimum standards for licensing of Marriage and Family Therapists (MFTs) and Clinical Professional Counselors (CPC) and to oversee the ethical conduct of MFT & CPC licensees in the State of Nevada.
Clinical Professional Counselors (CPC) Licensing
NRS 641A.231 empowers the Board to examine candidates based on their knowledge of Clinical Professional Counseling literature
Each applicant must furnish
evidence satisfactory to the Board that he/she:
- is at least 21
years of age
- is of good moral character
- is a citizen of the
United States, or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United
- completed his residency training in
psychiatry from a regionally accredited college, university or institution
approved by the Board or
- a graduate Mental Health degree from a
program approved by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related
Educational Programs (CACREP) as a program in mental health counseling or
community counseling or
- At least 2 years of
postgraduate experience practicing professional counseling and;
least 3,000 hours of supervised experience in professional counseling, which
includes, without limitation,
- At least 1,500 hours must consist of
direct contact with clients and;
- at least 300 hours of supervision with approved supervisors of which at least 1
one hour per week was completed for each week in which the applicant
provided counseling; and
- passed the National Clinical
Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE) which is administered by the
National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC).
Applicant Submittal Responsibilities
Please note that it is the responsibility of the applicant to submit all forms by the stated deadlines. Board members or staff is not responsible for soliciting these materials. This is the sole responsibility of the applicant. Exceptions cannot be made.
Pursuant to NRS 641A.231 (5) each
qualified applicant for a license to practice clinical professional
counseling must furnish evidence to the Board that they have passed the
National Certified Mental Health Counseling Examination
(NCMHCE) examination given by the National Board for Certified
Counselors (NBCC) in order to demonstrate his or her knowledge of clinical
An applicant for CPC licensure must take such examination for the first time at any time after receipt of their eligible application and before the expiration of their license as a CPC-Intern. The Board shall accept receipt of an official copy of a qualified applicant’s passing score from the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), who creates and administers the examination, to meet testing requirements.
Pursuant to NAC
641A.156 Clinical Professional Counselor-Interns are eligible to sit
for the written portion of the examination at any time prior to the end of the
internship and must successfully pass the examination, before they may be
licensed as a Clinical Professional Counselor.
Deadlines for Application to Take Any Given Exam
Computerized examinations are
administered each month by the National Board
for Certified Counselors (NBCC). Eligible licensed
interns may submit an Exam Request Form to request to have their name submitted
to sit for the exam.
Licensing Procedure, Applications & Forms