
Summary of NAC Changes Effective 9/20/19 
 

On September 20, 2019, the Nevada Board of Examiners for MFT/CPC approved R-095-19. This regulation 
contains the changes to section 641A of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) relating to the practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapists and Clinical Professional Counselors. The approval of these NAC changes 
is the culmination of the legislature passing SB 37 on June 6, 2019. 
 
As a guide to making sense of the NAC changes, the following summation of highlights is provided. To 
understand all of the NAC changes, it is the responsibility of the reader to review R-095-19 for 
themselves. 
 
Biennial License for CPC/MFT license (renews every even-number year)  

• Biennial renewal of a license to practice as a CPC or MFT   $450 

• Fee for late payment of biennial renewal     $125 

• If applying for license mid-biennial period, licensure fees will be prorated on a monthly basis for the 
period from the date of issuance until the expiration of the license on January 1 of each even-
numbered year.  

 
New Fee Structure 

● Application for an initial license     $150 
● Issuance of initial license      $60 
● Place CPC/MFT license on inactive status (3 years max)  $100 
● Issuance of duplicate license      $10 
● One-time only renewal of a CPC/MFT Intern license   $150 
● Reevaluation of applicant’s coursework (academic review)  $50 
● Application for approval as a primary supervisor   $75 
● Approval of a course or program of continuing education   $25/each 
● Approval of a provider of continuing education   $150/year 

 
Scope of Practice Changes for CPC/MFT 

● Exclusions removed thereby allowing those activities within scope of practice – including diagnosis 
and treatment of bipolar, schizophrenia, and psychosis.  

● Exclusions for CPC scope of practice removed, allowing assessment and treatment of couples and 
families in circumstances that the Board determines are appropriate.  

 
Continuing Education Requirements for Biennial CPC/MFT Licenses: 

● 40 CEUs during the two-year period. 
● Of which, 6 CEUs will be in ethics during the two-year period. 
● Of which, 4 CEUs will be in suicide prevention during the two-year period. 
● Licensees will sign an affidavit attesting to completion of the continuing education requirements 

rather than submitting a list of CEUs. 
 
Intern Process Streamlined 

● Written summary of experience or personal statement no longer required 
● Eliminated the automatic expiration of an intern’s license if they change approved supervisors.  
● If wanting a new license printed with current supervisor – fee is $10 

 
Licensure by Endorsement 

● Reciprocity license allowed for holders of a corresponding valid and unrestricted license as a 
CPC/MFT in another state or District of Columbia. 

● Reciprocity also given to active members, veterans, or a spouse of an active member of the Armed 
Forces. 
 

 
 
 


